Need help reading 4-20ma pressure transducer

tiopaeng

I have an AB 1500 LSP and I need to maintain a steady pressure of 80psi +- 10% from an analog 4-20ma pressure tansducer.

I also have a 4-20ma output proportional vent valve to exhaust pressure.

Can anybody please help me out on this project.

I'm a newbie and this is my first project.

Appreciate all your help,
Thank You,
TioPaeng

You have picked a difficult project for a "newbie".

Are you regulating air pressure or water pressure? Am I to understand that you have a pump or fan running at a constant speed, and that you plan to regulate pressure by venting away the excess?

GENERALLY speaking you will need a 4-20ma analog input into the PLC to interpret the signal from the transducer, a direct acting (as pressure goes higher, the vent valve opens wider) PID command in the PLC, and a 4-20ma output from the PLC to the proportional vent valve.

Do you understand PID loops? http://learncontrol.com/pid/description.htm

Stationmaster

VERY important question was what are you regulating water air etc etc?
NEXT important what kind of flow rate are you regulating?

IF you can get them designed for the material and within your desired flow range I would consider using two stage regulation where first stage regulates to 90 then second stage would regulate to 80. With this setup you should get a tolerance well within your desired 10%.

Dan Bentler

I am regulating air pressure in a pressure vessel. When filling, let's say from 0-70psi I want the valve to open 100% and gradually strict the flow so it does not get over pressured above 80psi. Once it's pressurized to 80psi I need to maintain it with a tolerance of +-10% anywhere from 1-24hrs. If in case the pressure goes above 10% the proportional valve opens and vents it out gradually and maintains air pressure.

I spoke with my local AB distributor and he's setting me up with the material list.