OT: Challenger, What were you doing 25 years ago today?

I was a computer maintenance engineer working on DECnet with PDP 11/44, VAX 11/750 and VAX 11/785 minicomputers.

I think the question was not "where were you working or going to school", but "what you were doing when you heard about the explosion."

We seem to like to play this game over here...

I was working with an electrical contractor and we were at a medical clinic installing some devices. I remember walking through the waiting area and seeing Peter Jennings and then a replay of the video. It was almost like they were still trying to discern exactly what had happened with hopes that it really wasn't what they feared. Seems I remember Jennings saying something about the Challenger being gone.

Going through basic training for the Navy in Orlando. They marched us out on the drill grounds so we could watch it. Couldn't hear any noise from it but definitely saw the big puff of smoke and the smoke trails going different directions from there and knew something had gone wrong.

I remember being sick, so I wasn't at school. Swung the old C-band satellite dish to watch a NASA wild feed just minutes before the launch.

Mr. Schaaf''s High School Physics class. Within 5 minutes he had wheeled in a TV and we all watched....Will never forget that day, or feeling!

Challenger 25 years