OT: My first python package - pytunelogix

I posted this elsewhere, but this is my first attempt at a python package:
A PID tuning suite for Logix
https://github.com/Destination2Unknown/pytunelogix

Anyone with Python experience feel free to recommend any improvements...
Contributions are welcome

Notes:

First foray into the world of Python

Python to PLC communication is based on pylogix (which is excellent)

This is still very much a Work in Progress

Also works with Logix Emulator (V32+)

It's based on a First Order Plus Dead Time system model and uses general tuning rules, which may not be suitable for all systems

Code:
The Method:

Step 1 -> Record a step response using the logger (or save logix trend as csv)
Step 2 -> Open the step response CSV in the tuner
Step 3 -> Test the tune using the Python Simulator
Step 4 -> Test and fine tune the ControlLogix PID with the process simulator

Logger:

A.png

Tuner:

D.PNG

Simulator:

C.PNG

Logix Simulator:

b.png

This is awesome! Thank you for the contribution!

Question: Does the PID gains calculation change as a function of the pid form (dependent or independent) that is selected? If so, would it be beneficial to offer a check box and calculate the gains based on that?

This is awesome! Thank you for the contribution!

Question: Does the PID gains calculation change as a function of the pid form (dependent or independent) that is selected? If so, would it be beneficial to offer a check box and calculate the gains based on that?

The independent and dependent PID are equatable:
Code:
Independent -> Kp*E + Ki*Σe + Kd*Δe
Dependent -> Kc(1 + 1/Ti*Σe + Td*Δe)

Code:
To convert:

Kc=Kp
Ti=Kp/Ki
Td=Kp*Kd

and conversely

Kp=Kc
Ki=Kc/Ti
Kd=Kc*Kd

The tune is calculated for independent gains and optionally these are converted to dependent form.
The form of the PID doesn't impact the tune, same same but different