Penguins and PLC's (TuxPLC)

dmroeder

Lifetime Supporting Member
I have seen a few threads lately (and read some old ones) with people talking about using TuxPLC. I've been an amateur Linux user at home for about 2 years now, but not quite the level of taking some source code and putting it to use. I have done some work with Eclipse and Android as well as with OpenCV, but there are a ton of tutorials that helped me get what I needed from those projects.

So does anyone feel like sharing some basic steps on how to put TuxPLC to some basic use? I have downloaded the source, what does it take to read a simple tag in a ControlLogix PLC over Ethernet (for example)? I think once I understand the process of getting it to the point of reading a tag, then I can run with it...

Thanks,

Dustin

I thought I’d update what it took me to compile one of the examples in tuxeip (test1.c). This should work in any of the Debian based distributions (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc). Just a FYI, if you find yourself saying “why the heck did he do it that way”, it’s because I don’t know what I’m doing! Stephane (library author) was a huge help in getting me in the right direction.

Prerequisites:
  • TuxPLC files
  • Build Essential
  • CMake
  • gcc

The basic idea will be install the appropriate prerequisites, compile the tuxeip library, place the header files and library in the appropriate directories then compile one of the examples and run it. There are probably other ways to do it, if you have a better way feel free to enlighten me. This is just how I got it to work for me.

Note: You can copy and paste the commands in the terminal. Right click then select paste, CTRL+V won’t do it

Open the terminal
Download the files
Code:
wget  https://github.com/leicht/TuxPLC/archive/master.zip
Extract the files
Code:
unzip master.zip
Change to the tuxeip directory
Code:
cd TuxPLC-master/tuxeip
Do some CMake wizardry
Code:
cmake CMakeLists.txt
Build the library
Code:
make