PLC Coveyor Question

kevilay

Hello, Im building a small conveyor to move dowels. Their between 1 and 2 inches long. The length of the conveyor will be around 1 foot. Each end will have a steel cylinder for the belt to go around on. I was wondering what kind of DC motor I Would need. I noticed most are rated in in/lbs but im not really sure what to relate that to. The maximum amount of dowels would weight somewhere around one pound. I was also wondering I have a micrologix 1000 plc. Can I run a 24v motor right off an output or does it draw to much ampage? Im an electronics student, In class we learned about the programming only, So im trying to learn how to take it a step further, any help is much appreciated.

Kevin

Definetely NOT.
Use a small contactor to run the motor.
Use the output to turn on the contactor whenever the motor needs to run.
Logic should be pretty straigh forward including the conditions to turn motor on and off.
Not sure about the in/lbs, sounds like torque to me.

Definetely NOT.
Use a small contactor to run the motor.
Use the output to turn on the contactor whenever the motor needs to run.
Logic should be pretty straigh forward including the conditions to turn motor on and off.
Not sure about the in/lbs, sounds like torque to me.

Thanks, yeah its definitely a torque, but I have no idea what it relates to and how much i need. I was thinking of maybe taking a motor out of a cordless drill

Kevin

Buy a cheap DC Motor driver board.
Dart, KB, Minaric, they all make them.
You can set Min-Max speed, CL and such on the board.
Makes life easier.
Then use the Inhibit on the board to turn the motor On and Off.
The Inhibit will be controlled by your PLC output.

this is for my final project Id probably be better off building a board like that myself. I understand the concept and how they work, but I don't know what kinda motor I need.

Kevin

I noticed most are rated in in/lbs but im not really sure what to relate that to.