PLC - Endless timer loops

bmillerx94

Hello,

Before I make my inquiry, allow me to introduce the setting of my question... I am doing a senior project with PLC for college. I am also interested in PLC and automation so this project is a hobby as much as it is a "project".

I am not a complete noob with PLC. I have some experience in school. I understand basic electrical and how to write basic ladder logic. But I am having an incredibly frustrating issue...

First, I havent bought the PLC, but I dont need anything too over the top. I plan to go with a CLICK PLC from Automation Direct with an I/O expansion. All discrete outputs.

The software I am using to write the ladder logic is "LogixPro" - a cheap PLC programming simulator.

So, onto the question. I keep getting a timer loop. Basically, what I am trying to do is turn an output off that is ON in a previous rung, with an output from a timer later in the logic. And no matter what I do, I keep getting a loop. Even when I use a fake output after the last timer, which is turned on by the done bit, to shut off the previous rung output with a NC contact, it still loops.

I have attached a picture of what I am speaking too. If any more information is required, please let me know.

Thank you all

15qry52.png

Hi,

The contact enabling the timer is a switch or some other input device. The timer is a TON.

Regardless of the input device to enable the timer, there is virtually no way I can find around this loop. I tried supplementing ACC bits, TT bits, EN bits and none work. This is also known as a "cycle timer" loop, which is actually quite useful for pulsing an output or cycling outputs. A good learning experience but I'm absolutely puzzled and need a solution to get around this.

Thanks for the reply.

We really do need to see the logic/addressing used here. We can all guess a few ways that this timer is causing issues, but without seeing the whole picture you will likely not get a complete answer.