PLC Ladder Diagram Basics

dannymcg

Hi. My background is 35+ years in field instrumentation and I'm doing a college PLC project for a mixing & batch system with pumps, high/low tank level switches, agitators on timers and open/close type valves.
I'm trying to design the ladder logic diagram. With regard to the level switches, do I have them operate their own (internal ?) plc relays ? Should I use n.o. contacts on the level switches in order to operate their respective relays when reaching the high or low levels ? I read somewhere that this way gives a positive 'on' or logic '1' but it contradicts switch wiring used for high/low alarm purposes i.e. 'failsafe'.

Apologies for what looks simple enough but, I need to ask as I am a little confused.

Any other tips to include in the ladder logic would also be greatly appreciated. (Advice on agitator timer setup/wiring etc)
Thanks.

I'm not exactly clear on what you're doing. Typically level switches are connected to an input; if they are activated it will change the bit registered to that input to a "1", if not it will be changed to a "0".

If I understand correctly, your code will look something like this:
HL = High level switch, LL = low level switch, B3:0/0 = drain tank bit, B3:0/1 = fill tank bit.
You have to be careful because the low level switch will be covered when the high level switch is, and neither is covered when the level is low.

[XIC] HL --- [OTL] B3:0/0 & [OTU] B3:0/1 (if the high level switch trips, latch the drain on and unlatch the fill.
[XIO] LL --- [OTL] B3:0/1 & [OTU] B3:0/0 (if the low level switch is not tripped, latch the fill on and unlatch the drain.

Does that make sense? If you have questions let me know. If you want more help, try to include a few more details; what is the agitator on the timer doing? [RTO] or [TON] or [CTU] could all be useful depending on the situation.

I'd recommend looking through Kronotech's guide: http://www.kronotech.com/LadderLogic/LadderLogic.htm