plc prints

georgia boy

hi guys

i am kind of new to print desighn standards . my application is i have a micrologix 1000 plc and i have a program that opens air solenoid vales on a conveyor system . when we have problems with these valves they have liquid tight all the back to the control panel so the easiest place to test the coil is the control panel . the L1 lead of any coil is easy to find because the address is marked on the terminal block . but the L2 side of any coil is marked L2 on the terminal block . with there being so many it is hard to find which leads to test. how can i mark these terminal blocks so that you can find each L2 wire and know which valve it goes to . but also still know it is L2 . also should my terminal blocks which contain plc output wires be labeled with the plc address or the wire refrence number from the print. if wire refrence how do you distingish between them . the print i have has 1 for L1 and 2 for L2 and these could be going anywhere i need to know how to use and label terminal blocks correctly

thanks in advance

gb

Originally posted by georgia boy:

with there being so many it is hard to find which leads to test. how can i mark these terminal blocks so that you can find each L2 wire and know which valve it goes to .

I am assuming (I know, bad idea) that all the L2 wires on your valve are common. That is, all the wires labeled L2 tie to the same voltage reference. If this is the case you should be able to test from the 'hot' wire (L1) to any L2 and get just as valid a result as if you test to the actual L2 wire from the specific valve.

I have seem a few different schemes for terminal numbering. One of them simply labels the terminals in order starting with 1. You then need the print to determine which wire number should go to a specific terminal.