PLC - SCR Heater Control - Introduction Needed (Analog)

naidanac

Hello, everyone.

I've been trying to wrap my brain around this for a few hours now - doing all the research.

I am looking to control a heater through an SCR (as per the requirements) with a 4-20mA output from a PLC.
The PLC also has a temperature feedback from the heater.
The platform is a Schneider Electric M340 PLC.

I am new to SCR control - should I be incorporating a PID controller?

I do understand that the 4-20mA output determines the percentage "on-time" of the heater, but I have seen applications where SCRs are mainly used as just latching circuits.
I am confused.

Any and all your help is greatly appreciated.

There are 2 basic types of SCR based Solid State Relays that most people use for doing this which are On /Off and Proportional (Phase Angle)

With the proportional it would be best to have a PID and the output of the PID giving 4-20 ma signal that will determine the on / off time and you may need something like a split range time proportional block depending on the PID functions you have in your PLC.

Or you could us a PID block with a split range time proportional block with standard on /off Solid state relays.

I like to use the Proportional solid state relays with a PIDE block and a SRTP block.

The proportional solid state relays have a better temp control and respond better to change IMHO.

Thank you very much for the replies. I really do appreciate it.

There is a hard requirement that a SCR be used and only the PLC to do the logic - I am unable to use any other embedded type of solution.

Basically the 4-20mA output of the PLC is connected to a SCR - unfortunately, SSRs are out.

is this a school project - or something for work? ... we'll try to help either way - but it's a lot easier to nail things down if we know where these restrictions/constraints are coming from ...