PLC Training Courses

dav555

Hello,

Im looking to train myself up in PLC's and VFD drives - add another string to the bow as it were. We use them at the company i work for. Mitsubishi FX3U and upgrading to Siemans 1200.

I hear Siemans offer excellent courses, i was looking at the TIA-SERV.

Also is there any recommendations on laptop/tablet for working on PLC's?

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.

D

Also is there any recommendations on laptop/tablet for working on PLC's?
Hi & Welcome

When you say 'laptop' are you on about one for hosting TIA Portal for doing the coding/development? If so, mine is just a bog standard HP EliteBook, Nothing special.

Can't help you with a course suggestion - all my TIA Portal learning has been self-taught, a real baptism of fire. I used on-line videos and getting answers from really helpful people on here.

Mas01

Thanks, and yes once for programming, fault-finding, diagnosing etc. It must be able to run software software for siemans, Mitsubishi etc. id prefer an tablet solely for ease of carrying around etc.

I notice siemans do a few online courses, il start with that...

Many thanks

D

Mas01

Thanks, and yes once for programming, fault-finding, diagnosing etc. It must be able to run software software for siemans, Mitsubishi etc. id prefer an tablet solely for ease of carrying around etc.

I notice siemans do a few online courses, il start with that...

Many thanks

D

Most PLC software is limited to Windows which limits you to tablet PCs. These generally are not well equipped for the PLC environment.

There are several good YouTube resources for TIAPortal. Liam Bee is a starting point off the top of my head, many more with a few searches.