Program Joystick in logic ladder

CharlesX

I need to write a LADDER program in STEP7 that will interface an APEM industrial joystick (js9000). The supply voltage is 15V max.
The joystick has to control a two-axis linear electric drive.
i.e if the joystick is held in the up direction, the x-axis drive moves up
if it is held in the down direction, the x axis drive moves down, etc.
I attached the spec sheet for the joystick. I also added a connection diagram. I only have to do the interface of the analogue joystick.

Can anyone show me how to start this program
I'm a novice.
C

Well, your going to be going into an analog card. That means that before you start telling the motors what to do, you need to scale the inputs.

Fro what I understand, the way the joystick works is that each axis's center position is at %50 of the voltage, and it goes from 0 to full voltage, 0 being "down" and full voltage being "up".

So you'll need to basically figure out how fast you want "full speed" for each of the motors to be. Once you have that, you'll scale the raw analog card input to that value, so that full voltage represents full speed in the "up" direction, and 0v represents full speed in the "down" direction for each motor.

Last edited:
Hi Bobbias
OK, I have scaled the inputs and set full speed to 1150 rpm. All the hardware configuration has been completed. My only problem nw is writing the code or constructing the ladder logic circuit

Hi CharlesX,
I am facing same problem. My problem is writing the code or constructing the ladder logic in PLC and also how to scale (set it maximum voltage for forward direction and minimum voltage for reverse direction) it in the ladder logic.
Can you please help me with any solution.

Lay95 you look like you are 10 years to late to the party, might start a new thread asking for help.

First I would look for how to scale and that should basically take care of your problem.