Quesions: OMRON and Mitsibushi

Berx

Hi fellow PLC folks,

I am quite new to the game of PLC's and have some simple questions (sorry if I am annoying anyone with my ignorance here) so here I go:

1.) What is the main difference between the OMRON "C" and "CV" series type PLC's?

2.) What are the software limitations and feature differences and..

3.) ..what other software besides SYSWIN is available for these PLC's?

4.) I have a CPM1 - is this a "C" Series PLC?

5.) I also have a mini Sysmac SP16 (the only software I found for this is the DOS-based miniLSS - is there also a Windows based software which supports this PLC?

6.) Furthermore, I also have a Mitsubishi Melsec FX - what software programming tools are available for this PLC?

I woud really appreciate your answers and comments and thank you in advance.

Have a great day.

Kind regards,
Berx :)

Last edited:
6.) GX Developer or GX IEC Developer are the two common softwares. Both are to be replaced by GX Works2 which is a merge between the two older types.
In my opinion GX IEC is the best!

Hi fellow PLC folks,

I am quite new to the game of PLC's and have some simple questions (sorry if I am annoying anyone with my ignorance here) so here I go:

1.) What is the main difference between the OMRON "C" and "CV" series type PLC's?

2.) What are the software limitations and feature differences and..

The C Series is on of the older lines, the CV is newer and has more support for Binary as opposed to BCD the C Series used, and Floating Point support. it also divided up the Counter and Timer Memory areas. It has a more rich Instruction Set, and better Memory.

You should be using CX-Programmer most likely as part of the CX-One Package. Latest I have seen is CX-Programmer V9 and is part of CX-One V3.

No, it is not.

5.) I also have a mini Sysmac SP16 (the only software I found for this is the DOS-based miniLSS - is there also a Windows based software which supports this PLC?

Can't help you with that one.