RSLogix 5 - 5000 Conversion | Indirect Addressing

Hello,

I'm very new to programming with absolutely zero schooling in this field and pretty hands off training in my new role, it's been fun (sarcasm intended). I've had to try learning everything on the fly. So as you answer this, I'd love dumbed down answers if possible =P.

Anyway, I had to convert a RSLogix5 program to RSLogix5000 and most things converted fairly well, except for anything with indirect addressing and specifically the things like the examples attached. I can't wrap my head around how to make this work and after days of trying to study up on finding a solution and watching many youtube videos, I find myself here. Thanks in advance for your time and assistance (and patience that will likely be needed to deal with a newbie like me).

Ex1Logix5.png Ex1Logix5000.png Ex2Logix5.png Ex2Logix5000.png

Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community !

The differences between how indirect addressing worked in the PLC-5 and how array tags work in ControlLogix prevent simple or automatic conversion of double-indirection addressing like your screenshots illustrate.

You just can't do a direct conversion. The narrower you focus, the further you get from a solution.

You need to take a step back, maybe several steps, and figure out what the original software author was doing.

Maybe they needed a data table that was more than 255 elements long (or 2000 elements, in a late-generation PLC5) and they used multiple Data Tables to accomplish that.

Or maybe each Data Table represents a data set which is selectable in logic.

This is harder if the original authors aren't available, or if the logic is uncommented, or if you don't actually know the process that is being controlled.

But it's still necessary, so if you're willing to look into the original program folks can help you.

Let's start first with examining the PLC-5 addressing in these COP instructions. The first one says:

COP (Copy File)
Source: #N[N206:9]:[N206:7]