RSLogix 5000 v20 Array Subscript Fault

creativepaper

Lifetime Supporting Member
I have a subroutine that gets called to copy a UDT In an array to a tag.
This subroutine will be called around once per minute and has been running unchanged for 8 years.
Last night I got a PLC fault for subscript overrun.
Looking at the code, the tag tSummary_Prod_Nbr = 201
How could this occur when the LIM instruction should not allow the AD instruction to be executed?

This tag tSummary_Prod_Nbr is not used anywhere else in the PLC program and is not overwritten by a MSG, HMI, or transaction.

The only idea I have is if I have a copy with mismatched source and destination somewhere in the PLC (STRING copied to STRING with fixed length).
I haven't looked in the code to see if this occurs, but wondering if there is anything else that could potentially cause it.

RoutFault.PNG

The LIM says if the value is between 0 and 200. That includes 0 and 200. That breaks down to greater than or equal to 0 and less than or equal to 200.

If the value equals 200 then it will add +1. I think you might need to change the limit to 199 if you never want to exceed 200. Or you could move/copy the LIM so it is after the ADD but before each of the CPS instructions.

OG

Last edited:
Opera,

I think you might just have that.
Array sizes for both CPS destination array size = 201

The only way that this will occur is if FTTM_Product_Enable_Summary_Trans.Trig_Ready = 1 when
FTTM_Product_Enable_Summary_Trans.Complete = 0

Checking the interaction between the two tags, the scenario can occur if the transaction errors out and does not complete
This is highly unlikely since we have redundant servers on this transaction, but I guess we just got unlucky when the fail-over occurred.

Thank you for this, there are a two simple patches that I'll do.
One is what you mentioned about the LIM upper value (should be 199 anyway for protection)