S7 address registers

CT782

Can someone define the address registers for me, as in the ones manipulated with LAR1, LAR2. Are there only 2 in the S7-300? How are they different from the accumulators? Can you use them as extra storage space if you need to load more than the 2 accumulators will hold? are they retentive? I saw in some old posts that they are used with indirect addressing.

Forgive my ignorance, I've never done any programming using these before.

Thanks

Chris

Hello Chris;
The address registers AR1 and AR2 are effectively used by Siemens S7 PLCs for indirect register addressing. They are 32 bit registes that are dedicated to indirect addressing (by the programmer, in STL, or by the CPU), they are not retentive and they cannot be used for anything else. Some of the larger S7-400 CPUs have 4 accumulators; S7-300 only have 2; you cannot use the address register as storage for them, anymore than you could use the stack pointer register or any other internal register dedicated to CPU use.
At the following address (search for ID: 365590, for example) you will find an explanation of Siemens' different types of indirect addressing, including the use of the area registers:

http://www4.ad.siemens.de/-snm-0135030360-1084460314-0000005371-0000000015-1086970874-enm-WW/llisapi.dll

Hope this helps,
Daniel Chartier

Last edited: