S7 pointers - help for beginner

italo2008

Hi

I started programming in step7 but I'm not very skilled in it yet... I think that the question at my answer will be very simple for many of you..

I have to set a number of BITS (for example: the first 20 bits of a data block) in a data block using a pointer.

In all the examples that I found on the web, pointers refers to BYTES or WORD, so I don't know how I can increment the pointer. This is what I did:

Code:
L P#0.0
T #Generic_Pointer
AUF DB9

SDBB:  S DBX [#Generic_Pointer]
       L P#0.1
       L #Generic_Pointer
       +D
       T #Generic_Pointer
       L #number_of_bits_to_be_set
       LOOP SDBB

Is it correct?

thank you

The code is very close to work, except for the fact that the command "S" takes the value on the RLO and sends it to the address you specify (check Step7 help). In this case, you have

"S DBX [#Generic_Pointer]"

That instruction by itself won't work, unless you set the RLO to "1" on the previous instruction.

Also, the code will go into an infinite loop. Why? After you Load the number of bits, and then the instruction LOOP decrements, you don't update the value of the number_of_bits. If you slowly see it, that tag will always be 20.

Therefore (for 20 bits):

L P#0.0
T #Generic_Pointer
AUF DB9

L 20
SDBB: T #number_of_bits_to_be_set //Update value
SET //Set RLO to 1
S DBX [#Generic_Pointer]
L P#0.1
L #Generic_Pointer
+D
T #Generic_Pointer
L #number_of_bits_to_be_set
LOOP SDBB

The tag "Generic_Pointer" should be DWORD and the Number_of_bits should be INT in this case.

Last edited:
Your errors have now been pointed out. My own preference is to use address register 1 (AR1) for this type of functionality.

arg.JPG

Your errors have now been pointed out. My own preference is to use address register 1 (AR1) for this type of functionality.

I agree, but you have to be carefull if you're also using INOUT parameters and complex data types as Input parameters.