Schematic software choice

plc noob

Hi Everyone

I know this subject has been discussed in the past but i am looking for opinions on schematic drawing packages.

Primarily in respect to choosing between Autocad electrical,Promise or Eplan

With data mostly from 2008 and 2009 installations and experience. I know in the past may here have swore by Autocad elecrical and shy away from promise. Does anyone here have experience with promise since it has been a bentley product?

I have seen articals that say promise is based on sql database and autocade is not. Is this true?. Even in newer versions of Autocad e.

I have used both in limited and trial fashions in the past.

I have no experience with Eplan

Trying to make a choice for a company i just started with and want to get this right the first time.

Thanks for all the knowledge i have attained from this site.

We've used Promis.e for several years now. It has been excellent for us and the support (out of GB) has also been wonderful.

The ability to build template drawings from and Excel spread-sheet made interfacing the product to our in-house development software a no-brainer.

Having the object information in a database was also a big plus for us.

Good Luck,

(8{)} :) .)
(Yosi)

If its maximum productivity you're after and you don't mind the Eplan presentation of things then Eplan (y) (bear in mind the licensing is usually thousands per seat per year). If you only need occasional electrical use and need conventional CAD too (e.g. panel layouts, mimics etc.) then regular AutoCAD will do just fine. You will have to buy or design and build a block library for AutoCAD, though. Not sure of the difference between regular and electrical AutoCAD. I have no experience of Promis.e either.

I have used Promise-e for a few years now, it's O.K. I only use it for small projects. I wanted to get Autocad but could not talk the boss into spending the extra money.