Siemens APACS..........anybody interested?

lucifer

Hi folks,

I've posted something regarding APACS few days before I got almost no response.........I would like to is the technology has really become obsolete?........Currently I am trying to simulate APACS project & I'll only discuss my doubts & findings only if sombody shows interest.......so guys who know better please come up.

On second thought, is it that APACS is more towards DCS side & PLCS.net is exclusively PLC forum? In that case please suggest me the right forum.

Thanx & Regards,

Mandar Joshi

Although it's a PLC site "most" visitors here are tolerant to subjects slightly off topic. I have been using Siemens PLC's for a couple years now but I am not familiar with the APACS acronym, what does it do and what does APACS stand for?

This is what I know:

Siemen took over Moore who had the APACS system. APACS is a PLC/DCS hybrid much like Delta V. I believe APACS is using a branded Wonderware HMI as their standard interface. I heard a few good thing about APACS except that Siemens is rumored to considering discontinue the APACS line (kill it).

Still not clear what you are looking for. Are your trying to install a new APAC system? What's your interest in them? Oh, nice alias, btw