SLC 5/05 and Barcode Scanners

POWER_PACKED

Hi all – This is my second post and I think this is the right place to ask a rookie’s question.
I am pretty new to the PLC world, and especially its interaction via serial ports, My plc background is a 3 certificate’s courses and a 4 months working experience only, I would really appreciate simplicity. Thank you. :D
This is my Problem:
Need to automate a barcode placement and scanning process and to store barcode information in a string file and confirm that the correct bar code was read.

PLC Type: SLC 5/05
Scanner Type: SICK barcode scanner CLV295A1012

I have read through many posts regards similar questions; I still lack the understanding of channel settings (i.e. Channel 0,1,2,3) what do they mean and what does it do? And what doesn’t Channel 0 look at for communication from a hardware point of view. Currently we communicate with our hand held scanners via visual basic software. My background is in electrical engineering and programming is not my thing.
I don’t have any problems interacting with currently installed and setup systems and controls. Installing something new and from scratch is a new challenge for me.

Your help is highly appreciated.
Thank you banghead

Hi, Channel 1 will be your ethernet port and channel 0 will be the 9 pin port on your processor. Depending on what your barcode scanner can send, and I am presuming it will send an ASCII string then you need to set channel 1 to user mode. (from the channel config in the tree) That was the easy bit. You have to now write code to
a) grab what is in the buffer and to import it into the data tables
b) manipulate the data and check the data validity