SLC 5/05 to 1770-KF2 Module

I am replacing an AB SLC 5/04 with a 5/05. The existing connection from the 5/04 connected to the KF2 via DH+ to talk serially via DF1 protocol. When I replace the 5/04 PLC with the 5/05, how do I connect the PLC using the serial port to the KF2 module? Is there a serial converter cable available?

So I think a little more detail is needed as I am confused.

The SLC-5/04 has DH+ built in to it. Plus it also has a serial port. The 5/04 wouldn't need the KF2 to get onto DH+. What was the KF2 connected to through the serial connection?

The 5/05 has built-in Ethernet and a serial port. To access the DH+ is would require the KF2 be connected via its serial port. That makes sense.

I'm guessing I am missing something here. Can you give us a little more info on the devices being used and how they are connecting?

OG

Sure thing and thanks for the response. Sorry - I am 100% NOT a PLC guy by trade. So the existing 5/04 uses DH+ out to the KF2 box. The KF2 box appears to exchange the DH+ to DF1 which the end DCS control system uses. The end system (ABB DCS) talks DF1 serially. I'm replacing the 5/04 with a 5/05. So, how do I get the ABB DCS which talks DF1 serially to talk to the new 5/05? I assume I need the KF2 box still or can I connect directly to the 5/05 serial port and simply configure the PLC. Thanks again for any information.

The 5/04 and the 5/05 have serial ports that talk DF1 natively. So it would be possible to go directly from the DCS to the serial port of either of those controllers.