SLC500 MSG confusion...

matwon

Hello, I don't have alot of experience with the SCL500 and I'm trying to read values from 4 chiller units with the MSG function. I have some experience with the MSG instruction but with Compactlogix and Controllogix cpus.

The units are frick HD Quantum controllers and the following comes from the communication setup manual:

http://frickcontrols.com/uploads/versions/090.040-CS_Quantum HD 2015-09.pdf

To provide for the reading and writing of data to Quantum™ HD panels using Allen-Bradley communication, the Quan-tum™ HD has an Allen-Bradley DF1 communication driver that recognizes either half or full duplex SLC 500 protected typed logical read and write commands (either half or full duplex must be selected). Half-duplex simply means that data can only be sent in one direction at a time (the concept of how a walkie-talkie works). Using full-duplex, data can be sent and received simultaneously (the concept of how a telephone works). This is a Master / Slave multi-drop communication method.

The Quantum™ HD talks Allen-Bradley SLC protocol and is programmed to resemble an Allen-Bradley SLC500 slave station. The customer’s PLC or DCS must be setup to initi-ate the reading and writing of data to a Quantum™ HD. The Quantum™ HD does not initiate any communications. The panel ID number is used as its station address and the target node. With the AB PLC, the MSG (Message) instruction is used to send read and write requests. A DCS (Distributed Control System) will use a SLC 500 DF1 protocol driver to send protected typed logical read with 3 address fields and protected typed logical write requests with 3 address fields to a Quantum™ HD. Fifty (50) data elements can be read with one read.

They also state that: