ST v Ladder

norman oliver

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi, I have a program running which is, occasionally, giving me problems. Although I'm a ladder stalwart I've used ST and SFC in its construction due to the nature of the software ( Eurotherm PAC 9 with Eycon HMI & T2750 PLC ).
I have a 20 step SFC auto sequence and also a manual page/screen in which each individual device (e.g. door open/close, ram up/down, pump on/off) can be button operated for set-up or maintenance. Running the sequence requires these devices on the manual page to be off, i.e. Door_open:=0 for instance.
Could these manual instructions interfere with the running sequence, i.e. Door_open:=1 ?
If I had used ladder I would have a n/o contact in a auto/manual rung to isolate manual operation. How, using ST do I negate any instruction on the manual screen?
Your help would be greatly appreciated as I am quite new to using alternatives to ladder.

Could these manual instructions interfere with the running sequence

Hi Norman,

A poorly wrote program is a poorly wrote program no matter if its SFC or LAD so I would think the answer is YES, SFC is one I am waiting to learn once I retire :) but this maybe your time...

I would also think there has to be a way to write a NO in in SFC

Why you don't map io to seperate memory first?
You could then invert IO on ladder or ST beforehand.

Isn't here simpile NOT(myVariable ) command available?

I think if elseif is your tool here most likely without seeing the sequence.

If condition 1 and condition 2 then
This := true;
Elsif condition 1 and not condition 2 then
This := false;
Else
Endif

Last edited:
Well, the simple answer is

Motor := Start & Interlock OR Motor & NOT Manual;

pretty simple however, ST is not really designed for bool (ladder is far simpler as you can see what is happening visually).