Structure Text Array Declaration

sterky

Hey all,

So I've had some experience with C++ style programming and I'm trying to figure out the best way to declare an array of numbers for each recipe that is loaded. Currently have a reference array but its a pain to make adjustments or even see it with all the other attributes in the CASE structured text I'm using.

What I'm trying to replicate from C++
int Array[5] = {2, 4, 5, 3, 1};

but the only way I can figure to do it,
array[0] := 2;
array[1] := 4;
array[2] := 5;
etc.

Really hoping someone knows a cleaner way or has some clever tricks I should consider.

Thanks

I might be reading this wrong and this carries a risk of overflow but if the 2,4,5,3,1 were in consecutive elements of an existing INT array you could COP the first (or any) element of that array into any position of the second INT array with a length of 5 (or whatever).

The syntax will be wrong but the idea would be:

COP SourceArray[X] DestArray[X] 5

I might be reading this wrong and this carries a risk of overflow but if the 2,4,5,3,1 were in consecutive elements of an existing INT array you could COP the first (or any) element of that array into any position of the second INT array with a length of 5 (or whatever).

The syntax will be wrong but the idea would be:

COP SourceArray[X] DestArray[X] 5

Currently the numbers are in an array, its basically pointers for another array to do custom ordering/referencing.

Issue is right now we just populate the info in the controller tags and I'd rather have the in the structured text to keep it getting written to and readable in the same area of structured text.

Simply put, I'm looking to fill an array with simple numbering (1-20) without having 20x "this[1] := 1;"

I'm even considering strings at this point to make it easier to manage. "3,4,2,5,1" with some ladder logic to pull the numbers out

Is it a fixed sequence or effectively random?