Studio 5000 Database

vezdro

Hello to Everyone all over the world:

I don't want to reinvent the wheel so I am asking others if they have programmed something similar to this and provide some advice. I am needing to record data, store it, record data again, and then print it to a label. Lets just say serial #, model #, pressure, temp, and tare weight. This is the first part of the data being recorded. Then when the vessel is filled, its moved to a scale to capture the gross weight. The final piece of this is to somehow matchup the recorded data to print on a label. I am confident on the programming side but this is my first time working on any type of database recording.

First recorded data
Serial 100 , Model 200, pressure 300, temp 400, tare weight 500 (gets stored)

Second recorded data
gross weight 600 (gets stored)

Match the data to print on the label (somehow match up the data)
Serial 100 , Model 200, pressure 300, temp 400, tare weight 500, gross weight 600

Applications/Equipment: Studio 5000, FactoryTalk ME, L33ERM and PanelView Plus 7 Performance

Welcome to the PLCTalk forum community ! Thank you for the details of your equipment and your application.

To be sure I understand, I'd like to ask some questions.

I assume most of the operator interface is through the PanelView Plus. Will your operators manually enter the serial number, model number, pressure, temperature, and tare weight ? And then the gross weight ? Or are there sensors like RFID or barcode or other ways to identify the vessel and the batch ?

Do you already have a label printer that you are going to use, or do you have to select and learn to interface with it ? Do you need to print straight ASCII text, or are there logos or barcodes or QR codes that need to go on the label ?

You say that you need plan to store the batch data in a database. Will it be recorded long-term or otherwise analyzed, or does its value end once the label is printed ?