ThruBeam

Hey Guys

This one i have never done before how you guys might have an idea.

I have a thrubeam normally open when object passes through close relay. No biggy. But i want to ignore high speed items and detect low speed items. Plc is a clic and it doesnt have many options.

Thanks Guys

Are all the items the same size ?

Do you have to detect them immediately after the trailing edge ?

If they're all the same size, you just use a timer. When the through-beam is blocked for more than X milliseconds, that's a "low-speed" object and you can use the "Done" condition of the timer in your logic.

If they're not the same size, well, that becomes a much more challenging application.

Simple input "debounce" application. Do a search for this term and you'll find many examples.

Instead of your input turning on an output, or whatever else it needs to do in your sequence, make it start a timer and use the timers done bit to trigger the output or rest of the sequence.

Adjust the timer value high enough so that it ignores your high speed items and catches the low speed items.

Edit: Beat me to it Ken... checked your PM's lately, btw? :)

Hey Ken

2 different sizes and 2 different speeds.

Scott

Are all the items the same size ?

Do you have to detect them immediately after the trailing edge ?

If they're all the same size, you just use a timer. When the through-beam is blocked for more than X milliseconds, that's a "low-speed" object and you can use the "Done" condition of the timer in your logic.

If they're not the same size, well, that becomes a much more challenging application.

More information gets you more participation in the thread and better answers.

What are the sizes ? What are the speeds ? Are the speeds known ? Are they changing ?