Tracking Production Efficiency with Custom Application?

SNK

I have been requested to look at developing an application that would display that "current" status of a job, primarily to Sups and Management. Management has determined that this "may" be able to be developed -in-house.

Our production facility users basically follow SOP's (or Standard Operating Procedures) in order to complete tasks. In most cases, the tasks must be completed in the EXACT same order, and during a certain timeframe. Our Management wants to be able to determine if the task is taking too long, or what the current task is.

I am not a software developer.

I can however write PLC code and deveop HMI applications.

My first thought was, to use a simple PLC, and an HMI to display States, each entered into by either timers elapsing or a manual button being depressed, leaving one state and entering another.

This display must be forwarded to a LARGE display board of some sort.

My question is simply....

Is there software out there already that would do this kind of thing, or am I looking at building something in-house?

Any help would be appreciated.

I've never heard of such an application - probably more of an "in house" special. In any event, you will probably need to do some database work in the back end and probably some scripting. Avoid the temptation to write code from scratch and leverage tools that you're already familiar with as applicable.

FactoryPMI would be an ideal candidate for such work for a few reasons: managers/supes need to pull it up easily (web launched), it can display nicely to large LCD TVs via a high quality DVI/HDMI connection, and you can take that next step to "higher level" reports/trends/etc that are driven by your database.

A few questions/points:
1. How do you determine how long a task should take?
2. Don't try to maintain state with timers and such. You'll do much better storing date/time fields in a database.