unrecognized devices for compactLogix 1769-L35E

pittlei

Hi, I am new to PLC and seeking advice here.

We have a compactlogix 1769-L35E. The L35E has been situated in shelf for a while, therefore, the battery might be dead. I am using the RSlogix 5000, version 17. Here is background.

I was updating the firmware of the 1769-L35E to version 17 through Ethernet port. The L35E was key in PROG mode. However, in the middle of updating, the L35E cycled power, and failed to proceed. The error message was "Failed to begin update to the target device. The target device is not in the proper mode to accept an update". Then the firmware was reset to be version 1.XX . I tried a couple of times, the problems remained the same.

Then I was trying to update to version 16. Same thing happened. But situation became worse. The RSlink only shown Ethernet port with yellow question mark: "192.168.1.5, Unrecognized Device, 1769-L35E Ethernet Port". All other hardware were not recognized, for example the backbone, the compactlogix processor, and local bus adapter are missing.

I switched to serial port communication. Same thing, device not recognized.
I read online information saying yellow question mark means EDS files is missing. Then I tried to download the compactlogix EDS files from rockwell. https://rockwellautomation.custhelp...ename/All_CompactLogix_EDS_Files_Thru_V20.zip

Even the EDS installation process went through, but no change in the unrecognized device. and the bottom of the EDS installation tool, "there are currently no devices in our database"

could you kindly help with the solution of the problems?
1. how to solve the yellow question mark and rediscover the devices?
2. how to update the firmware?

regards

Lei

Hi, I am new to PLC and seeking advice here.

We have a compactlogix 1769-L35E. The L35E has been situated in shelf for a while, therefore, the battery might be dead. I am using the RSlogix 5000, version 17. Here is background.