What cable to use to connect to SLC 5/04 via rs232?

tetcie

Hi All,
I have a SLC 5/04 plc that I need to communicate to - however we don't have any null modem rs232 cables on site. I am very new to Allen bradley plcs (I have mainly used Siemens s7) so I am unsure which way to go about it.

In RSlinx the driver the plc uses is AB_DF1-1 and the channel 0 configuration on the plc is DF1 Full duplex.

What cable should I use? Google mentions using a 1747-CP3 cable but I dont have a rs232 port only USB, would a null modem DB9 to usb adapter work with a 1747-CP3?

would a null modem DB9 to usb adapter work with a 1747-CP3?

No this would be a straight through cable... the CP3 is a null modem

Just a USB rs232 with a null modem OR a 1747-CP3

Do you have a DB9 cable? make your own if you cant wait, cross 2 and 3

If you don't already have the 1747-CP3 cable, I would not try to buy one. It'll be seriously overpriced.

When I connect to the 9-pin COM port of a SLC 5/04 (or 5/03...), I use a standard off-the-shelf RS232 cable with a null modem adapter. The datasheet for the -CP3 cable shows that it's just a null modem cable with all conductors straight through except for pins 2 & 3 which are swapped:
https://literature.rockwellautomation.com/idc/groups/literature/documents/in/1747-in518_-en-p.pdf
A standard RS232 cable with a null modem adapter is the same thing.

Not sure what you'll have available locally, but here's what I use:
For the USB-RS232 adapter, I use a Keyspan USA-19HS:
https://tripplite.eaton.com/keyspan-high-speed-usb-to-serial-adapter~usa19hs

For the Serial cable, this should work:
https://www.l-com.com/d-sub-reversible-hardware-molded-d-sub-cable-db9-male-female-100-f

I use this null modem:
https://www.l-com.com/d-sub-slimline-null-modem-adapter-db9-male-female

You can also use one of these that combines the USB-RS232 and null modem:
https://www.plccable.com/allen-bradley-slc-500-usb-1747-cp3-1756-cp3-aftermarket-9300-usbcbl-cp3/