CompactLogix L33ER, IP address issue

Elcan

Lifetime Supporting Member
Hi all,
This is my first time with the new L33ER.
The problem I have is that I cannot make the PLC keep the address I manually assigned, after I power cycle it. I tried setting it from RSLogix 5000 and from RSLinx.
In RSLOGIX, for example, I select "Manually configure IP settings".
I assign the IP address while I'm online with the PLC, and the NS light changes to solid green or flashing green, and the communications work. But, when I power cycle the PLC, the NS led is solid red and the IP address is back to 0.0.0.0.
Probably there's a easy fix for it. I hope.

Thank you!

Make sure you un-check the "Use DHCP" button; what you're describing is completely consistent with the DHCP/BOOTP still being selected.

I usually just do the configuration of the Ethernet module/port in RSLinx Classic, so I'm not totally sure how it appears inside RSLogix 5000.

EDIT: I re-read your question and saw the note about the solid red NS LED. That's a dead giveaway that you've got a duplicate IP on the network.

Reconfigure over USB and keep the controller unplugged from Ethernet, then plug it in and I'll bet it does the same thing.

Another EDIT: You don't have both ports plugged into the same Ethernet switch, do you ? Those are "ring ports" and have only one IP address.

Thank you for your comments!

Make sure you un-check the "Use DHCP" button; what you're describing is completely consistent with the DHCP/BOOTP still being selected.
I'm sure it's un-checked.

EDIT: I re-read your question and saw the note about the solid red NS LED. That's a dead giveaway that you've got a duplicate IP on the network.
It's possible, because they gave me a connection to their network. Not very usual, I know.

Reconfigure over USB and keep the controller unplugged from Ethernet, then plug it in and I'll bet it does the same thing.
It does not.