How do I get PLC Hands On Experience

pilotjoe

Hi All:

Thanks for this Forum. I am a Licensed Electrician in central New Jersey. I am working as a plant electrician for a water company and would like to get some hands on experience with PLC's. I have asked the company for training in this field but there responce is that " it's not my job" ?? Go Figure??? Anyway, I am learning on my own by the use of books such as the one from this site as well as others but I am not able to put what I have learned into real life action.

Companies do not want to take a chance on training someone on there equipment and I don't blame them. I would never let anyone work on something without proper guidance.

My question to this Forum is:

How do I get hands on experience with PLC's.

I am willing to work for a company part time after my normal hours. I don't know if this is appealing but I figure it's worth a shot. I understand that I will have to give a little in order to get a lot!!

Any help will be most apreciated.

Thank you
Joe

Hey Joe,

I would suggest that you buy your self an inexpensive PLC and software package like the DL05 from Automation Direct or look on EBAY for used equipment and software. Throw together a bunch of switches, buttons, and lights and try to duplicate systems that you have seen in use around you. That would give you some hands on programming experience. You could also benefit from taking some classes on your own at a local college if available. :D

Hi RDay:

Thanks for the idea. Does it matter what manufacture I use? I know AB is really big but isn't the core pretty much the same for all manufactures?

Thanks
Joe

The Rockwell/Allen Bradley Option....

I just learned last week that you can download a free version of RSLogix 500 Starter Software and RSLinx Lite software to upload and download to Allen Bradley MicroLogix 1000 10-point controllers.