PLCs for control of valves, motors...

Haps

I am new to PLCs (i am an undergrad student doing an internship at a company) and my boss has purchased Trilogy Research International's T100MD888+ PLC.

Now that i understand how PLCs work and the ladder logic/TBasic programming involved, i'd like to understand how this may be applied to controlling valve openings, stepper motors... I know this probably seems like a simple question to most of you, but i would appreciate some guidance or examples.

Thank you in advance.

Haps.

I'm not sure I understand your question.

Are you asking how, physically, the PLC gets the valve to move, or how you go about writing a program to move the valve?

(Lets keep stepper motors out of this for the time being and stick to regular motors. Some steppers will function like regular motors and go through their program on the high of a input to the motor/from the PLC. Others talk via RS-232 and want more info from the PLC.)

Your question is really to general to answer properly. Conceptually, you have the world divided into the PLC and field devices. The PLC has inputs - it is reading the status of the field devices. Inside the PLC you have rules - your ladder logic program - that regulate what the machine is supposed to do. The PLC has outputs that, based on the result of the inputs plus the rules, activate the field devices. Thats all there is to it!

Simple example - a PLC replacing the thermostat in your house. The field devices are the high and low temperature switches and the heat and cool inputs (wired to the inputs to the PLC), the burner, the fan, and the air conditioning compressor (wired to the outputs from the PLC).

The rules are:
Heating selected, temperature switch low on, start burner, delay, start fan. When temp switch high comes on stop burner, delay, stop fan.
Cooling selected, temperature switch high on, start compressor, delay, start fan. When temp switch low comes on stop compressor, delay, stop fan.