"Whats the perfect laptop for programming?"

ShadP

Im not totally unfamiliar with PLCs and ladder logic but Im by no means a programmer, lets just say a little knowledge can be a dangerous thing. Im currently striving to change that and get more intimate with PLC programming than I have in the past (Ive dealt with several manufacturers products and used the ladder logic to trouble shoot machinery, as well as taken some seminars from AB). I will most likely be dealing with several makes and models of PLCs in my current position so I dont need brand specific answers to my question.

Now for my question:

I plan to purchase a laptop for programming/trouble shooting and have no idea what exactly I need. I would like to know what ports are necessary, processor speed, hard drive space requirements, ram requirements etc..

From a stance of money is no object to the bare minimum required what would the expert opinion of "Whats the perfect laptop for programming?"

Thank you in advance for any helpful information you can send my way.

ShadP

I would say there is no perfect laptop to use, I have had several and they all worked well. I currently use a Dell Latitude (this is my 3rd) they are expensive but seem to hold up well. One of my colleagues had a Dell Inspirion and it was no where near as rugged as the Latitude. I always look for something near the top of line as far as CPU speed and memory. Remember you are buying a slice in time so I prefer to get a top end system as within 3-4 months it’s near the middle or bottom! Also make sure you have a serial port, as well as at least one PC card slot. Be careful if you plan to use a USB adapter to Serial although I have never tried one a friend told me his was nothing but trouble and he finally gave up.