Endress Hauser Flow Meter 4-20ma

mavrick

Hello I am new to setting up a flow meter totalizer in ladder logic.I know using pulse to configure gallons total would be best, but currently 4-20 ma is what i have to work with.

I am using studio 5000 software and control logix hardware.

I am currently using the compute instruction with this formula below to get my total:

(mag register/60+HMI total) ex. 250gpm/60+600 gallons this is pulsed every 1000 ms by a timer dn. bit. and the accumulation is showed on the HMI screen.

Are there any AOP instructions or a better way to create a totlizer using ladder logic.

The higher my gallon set point is the more skewed my totals become. Any help would be much appreciated. I have looked through the threads and found some good information , but some of it is over m head at the moment. Thank you

What is the rate of skew, and is it fairly constant?

Clock drift is one possibility here: a self-repeat-triggering 1000ms timer will actually take (1000+epsilon)ms, where epsilon could be in the range from a fraction of a millisecond to a few milliseconds, so that (1minute/60seconds) conversion factor would more correctly be defined as (1minute/59.XXXsamples). Cf. here.

A quick-and-dirty fix would be to calibrate the behavior of the combination of

1. the PLC clock,
  2. the running program, and
  3. the process
to determine a better value for that 59.XXX, assuming average behavior is consistent.

See that link for other suggestions.

P.S. if the skew is not constant, or is more than say a percent or so, or is high not low (PLC accumulation higher than the assumed-correct Rosetta Stone source), then look somewhere else.

Last edited: