FactoryTalk view studio ME Data Logging question

joshua.brown

I am currently using a FactoryTalk program to log data and display a trend on one of my machines. I have it all working, the question i have is if it is possible to tell the log when to capture data and when to ignore it, or if there is a way to sort the log file once viewing it on a pc. My process takes around 40 seconds on average, and i only want 7 seconds of it logged, but the 7 seconds is not in a constant part of the process, so i do not believe i can get the log on value change to work.
If yall got any tips or questions let me know!🍺

I'm a little confused as to what you mean by that. I am fairly new to this. I have tried using the "on change" setting, but that setting has a lower read rate and I'm not quite sure i fully understand how it works. My tag has a range from 0 to 1600 and during a 7 second process that jumps around, those 7 seconds are what i want to capture. If I use the "on change" setting, is it possible to get it to do what I want?

Thanks for the help!

I am currently using a FactoryTalk program to log data and display a trend on one of my machines. I have it all working, the question i have is if it is possible to tell the log when to capture data and when to ignore it, or if there is a way to sort the log file once viewing it on a pc. My process takes around 40 seconds on average, and i only want 7 seconds of it logged, but the 7 seconds is not in a constant part of the process, so i do not believe i can get the log on value change to work.
If yall got any tips or questions let me know!🍺

I am afraid you will not be able to accomplish this task using exclusively the FTV application; FactoryTalk Data Logging is pretty crude and cumbersome.