interfacing PLC to equipment

lonnietillett

Howdy folks
I am a design engineer working for a rather small company in the middle of heartbreak silicon valley. I was hoping to find a book or a standards manual on interfacing PLC to equipment.
In my former life I use to design wafers, cpu systems, I/O devices and unfortunately I also became a programmer ( oh man my methodone just ran out). All in all I always had some standard by which manufaturers agreed upon as a common pinout/cable wiring etc... convention.

I have to interface a 80 KW UV drying system to a newspaper printing press. Two inputs from customer PLC and I supply 9 outputs (buffered) for thier measurement.

Any suggestions....

well I guess that there are no industries standards...though one would think there should be..after all it doesn't matter whose hard drive you buy...it still works, it rom-bios still interfaces with the the system bios
so my thinking is if a customer has a PLC, PLC software, and an interface then that customer should be abale to change any one of the componets out and thier system still works..

I hope I haven't bored anyone to death..
ta ta for now

lonnietillett
well I guess that there are no industries standards...though one would think there should be..after all it doesn't matter whose hard drive you buy...it still works, it rom-bios still interfaces with the the system bios
So the all the chips in a mac will work in a pc?

What kind of standards are you looking for exactly?

Something like: Use this type of eye for this and this type for that?
A 3 pole relay for this and a 2 pole for that?

Every brand has their own "standards" as far as the actual plc goes.
The machine is a matter of need and space.

If you can shed more light on exactly what those inputs and outputs do just about anyone on here can steer you in the right direction to the available products to get the job done professionally.