You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 1st, 2021, 02:09 PM   #1
id10t_error
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

id10t_error is offline
 
id10t_error's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: California
Posts: 72
Virtual Machines From Rockwell! Finally. Or out of the loop...

While on the Rockwell website, I stumbled across a Rockwell virtual machine 9528-EWSLICENE. Everyone probably knows about this as I'm out of the loop most of the time.

See the attached PDF for more info, and does anyone know if they have a machine builders VM or integration VM?... legacy windows XP with Rockwell software would be cool, but we have our own.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf proces-pp009_-en-p.pdf (1,012.7 KB, 78 views)
__________________
"We make the solutions up out of modules, so they're all standard, ... They're built for security, reliability, ease of expansion and ease of changing. They're the ideas we had many years ago that tend to get lost today." -Ken Olsen co-founded Digital Equipment Corporation (DEC)
  Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2021, 02:21 PM   #2
Ken Moore
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Ken Moore is offline
 
Ken Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: North, West, South Carolina
Posts: 3,070
Those have been around for several years now. If you are going to deploy VM's at a customer site, you can order the VM's, much faster than installing all the software manually. Just add licenses.
__________________
Certified Siemens Functional Safety Professional,
ID: SFSP17010238
https://azr.com/
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 06:39 AM   #3
Phil Buchanan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Phil Buchanan is offline
 
Phil Buchanan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 547
But beware these cost about $1600.00 USD each. Now they are an investment you can use for multiple projects but still.

They would be really nice if they were free.
__________________
PLC Boot Camp Training
VFD Training
HMI Training
Electrical License Prep Training
Motor Controls Training

http://www.KeyAutomationTraining.com
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 11:57 AM   #4
VAN
Member
United States

VAN is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wa
Posts: 436
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Buchanan View Post
But beware these cost about $1600.00 USD each. Now they are an investment you can use for multiple projects but still.

They would be really nice if they were free.
What else comes with it?

Their is no way I would pay that much for just a virtual machine. Setting up a VM is like an hour (or day depending) experience. (I recommend everyone to setup a VM from scratch so you understand what is required and that it's super easy.)
  Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2021, 12:17 PM   #5
Phil Buchanan
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Phil Buchanan is offline
 
Phil Buchanan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by VAN View Post
What else comes with it?

Their is no way I would pay that much for just a virtual machine. Setting up a VM is like an hour (or day depending) experience. (I recommend everyone to setup a VM from scratch so you understand what is required and that it's super easy.)
Thatís all it comes with is the VMís on Physical Media. Itís a nice setup and good for a large plant pax rollout it saves lots of time and sets a standard but itís still way to expensive for what it is IMHO.

Itís really hard to justify on anything except the largest projects.
__________________
PLC Boot Camp Training
VFD Training
HMI Training
Electrical License Prep Training
Motor Controls Training

http://www.KeyAutomationTraining.com
  Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2021, 09:21 AM   #6
PreLC
Member
United States

PreLC is offline
 
PreLC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Mars
Posts: 340
If you go to Studio5k V33's "Additional downloads" section(This shows up when selecting what all to download) you can download an image with all V20-33 Logix pre-installed for free, given you own S5k. This does not have a windows license, so you'll have to furnish one, and also the logix licenses. But saves on install times and windows setup times.

I have been able to extract the VHD from their VM, and use it with hyper-V. It works well.
__________________
Ask not what your PLC can do for you, ask what you can do for your PLC.
  Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2021, 10:20 AM   #7
cardosocea
Member
United Kingdom

cardosocea is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Fields of corn
Posts: 1,833
The only thing to be mindful of are the languages... installing everything from scratch was pretty painless but using these and a different language with PlantPAX threw me off.
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual machines A_G LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 41 September 13th, 2019 05:17 PM
Citect 6.10, Modbus Plus and Virtual Machines cyoung120 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 June 23rd, 2019 02:10 PM
Virtual Machines and RSLogix/RSLinx TridentAutomation LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 February 1st, 2011 08:50 PM
Rockwell Allen Bradley Programming Software, RSLogix 5, RSLogix 500, RS Linx, RSLogix vvcd LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 21 September 24th, 2009 11:04 PM
CLX PID control using line speed parameter jim767 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 25 January 1st, 2007 12:41 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 AM.


.