You are not registered yet. Please click here to register!


 
 
plc storereviewsdownloads
This board is for PLC Related Q&A ONLY. Please DON'T use it for advertising, etc.
 
Try our online PLC Simulator- FREE.  Click here now to try it.

New Here? Please read this important info!!!


Go Back   PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > PLCS.net - Interactive Q & A > LIVE PLC Questions And Answers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 25th, 2006, 03:10 AM   #1
yfcarer
Member
China

yfcarer is offline
 
yfcarer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tianjin
Posts: 82
Wink How to test a PLC program?

Hi, all.

I am a new guy in PLC field and now working with CompactLogix L35E.

Now I have the processor but no IO card. I can download the program. But I don't know how to test my program? Can anybody give me some guide on how to test or debug a PLC program under RS5000?

What is your usual test procedure?

Thanks in advance!
  Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2006, 04:51 PM   #2
Lancie1
Lifetime Supporting Member
United States

Lancie1 is offline
 
Lancie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 9,999
You will not be able to test it until you get some Input and Output cards. With an Input card you can connest temporary test switches and pushbuttons to simulate the program. Digital outputs can usually be simulated with the output LED indicators on the Output cards. Analog inputs and outputs are more difficult to simulate. You need some test equipment to simulate thoes.
  Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2006, 03:13 AM   #3
Marc
Member
United States

Marc is offline
 
Marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 430
YFCARER,

With a CLX processor, you can define your I/O and then in RSLogix 5k you can inhibit the entire IO bus for testing purposes. Right click on the icon for CompactBus Local and on the connections tab, tick off the "inhibit module" checkbox and the processor will go into run mode without faulting.

Really nice feature of RSL5K.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2016, 12:30 AM   #4
meabhay1
Member
India

meabhay1 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: HOME
Posts: 1
You can use RS Logix 5000 emulator to test your program.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2016, 07:00 AM   #5
nhatsen
Member
Venezuela

nhatsen is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Argentina
Posts: 685
Quote:
Originally Posted by yfcarer View Post
I have the processor but no IO card. I can download the program.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc View Post
YFCARER,

With a CLX processor, you can define your I/O and then in RSLogix 5k you can inhibit the entire IO bus for testing purposes. Right click on the icon for CompactBus Local and on the connections tab, tick off the "inhibit module" checkbox and the processor will go into run mode without faulting.

Really nice feature of RSL5K.
+1

I only use RSEmulator when I don't have a real controller.
__________________
"If you can't solve a problem, then there is an easier problem you can solve: find it." (George Pólya)
  Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2016, 08:30 AM   #6
rupej
Member
United States

rupej is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NC
Posts: 854
Just make spoofed I/O tags and use those throughout your program. You can write to inputs at will then.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2016, 09:03 AM   #7
robertmee
Member
United States

robertmee is offline
 
robertmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 1,464
I do a combination of the above...inhibit all your io modules in the io configuration. Then you can write 1s and 0s to the i/o at will....I'll then usually create a simple routine to simulate what I want.
  Reply With Quote
Old September 9th, 2016, 07:32 PM   #8
JaxGTO
Member
United States

JaxGTO is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Kalieefornia
Posts: 880
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc View Post
YFCARER,

With a CLX processor, you can define your I/O and then in RSLogix 5k you can inhibit the entire IO bus for testing purposes. Right click on the icon for CompactBus Local and on the connections tab, tick off the "inhibit module" checkbox and the processor will go into run mode without faulting.

Really nice feature of RSL5K.
That is the best way to test if you have the PLC. Then when you go live you only need to enable the cards again.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2020, 08:16 AM   #9
alex-oc
Member
Australia

alex-oc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3
We used to inhibit the IOs and create a test routine in PLC program. However we wanted something more general between programs and use it during PLC program development.

So we have created a simple app for automated testing if anyone's interested https://www.controlx.io/

Now we have a PLC on the desk without the IO cards which we are using with PLC Logic Prover for testing.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2020, 08:26 AM   #10
parky
Member
United Kingdom

parky is online now
 
parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 3,143
One of the best ways if using a real controller is map all the I/O into internal bits/words in blocks but do not call them, use the mapped bits in the program(s) and create a simulation block to simulate the I/O by turning on or off the mapped bits (example: A Valve: if Output (mapped bit) start timer, set open mapped bit do the same for others etc. ) after all simulation is like making outputs change inputs that change outputs.
before download for testing remove or disable calls to I/O mapping, enable calls to simulation. After simulation enable mapping & either remove or disable simulation blocks. that way you are not trying to use real I/O, on many processors you cannot force inputs on programmatically so is a no brainer if you do not have a simulation program.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2020, 08:34 AM   #11
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 7,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex-oc View Post
We used to inhibit the IOs and create a test routine in PLC program. However we wanted something more general between programs and use it during PLC program development.

So we have created a simple app for automated testing if anyone's interested https://www.controlx.io/

Now we have a PLC on the desk without the IO cards which we are using with PLC Logic Prover for testing.
Hi Alex and welcome, most of the time we delete what is considered spam on the site, please dont dig up old post (14 years old), instead stick around and help out, trust me you will get a chance to post your links and your work
__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more...OEM and aftermarket supplies... Aftermarket 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+, new USB to 485 modbus
  Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2020, 08:42 AM   #12
parky
Member
United Kingdom

parky is online now
 
parky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midlands
Posts: 3,143
Well spotted genius....
most of do not read the OP's date of post
  Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2020, 09:05 AM   #13
alex-oc
Member
Australia

alex-oc is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3
Thanks @parky, it is a great approach. We map IOs in one routine and just don't call the routine during testing.

Thanks @geniusintraining! Yes, this post is quite old. I didn't want to appear as a spammer. This forum helped me so many times and wanted to contribute. Our tool is free and it helped my mates in Australia, so I thought to mention it here.
  Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2020, 09:20 AM   #14
geniusintraining
Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
United States

geniusintraining is offline
 
geniusintraining's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SC
Posts: 7,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex-oc View Post
Thanks @geniusintraining! Yes, this post is quite old. I didn't want to appear as a spammer. This forum helped me so many times and wanted to contribute. Our tool is free and it helped my mates in Australia, so I thought to mention it here.
I did not think you wanted to or it would of been removed, I do think your product is a good tool and would help a lot of people, this is the reason I gave you the advice of helping here, there are a lot of people that visit this site and use it as a tool, there are also a lot of people that dont like the old post brought back to life and for good reasons, 2006 was when this was posted and as you know in our world a LOT has changed since then so most of it will be just noise.

Please do check in from time to time and contribute

__________________
www.PLCCable.com PLC Communication Cables, PLC Trainers, MicroLogix, ControlLogix, Siemens, Allen Bradley and more...OEM and aftermarket supplies... Aftermarket 1784-U2DHP Allen Bradley USB to DH+, new USB to 485 modbus
  Reply With Quote
Reply
Jump to Live PLC Question and Answer Forum

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Allen Bradley To siemens PLC program conversion vinitch LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 April 2nd, 2010 02:08 PM
Simulator, Simulation, Shadow Code Terry Woods LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 1 January 2nd, 2005 02:40 PM
PLC Program Management zmanvortex LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 November 1st, 2004 11:03 AM
PLC Program that will run Christmas lights Damon8561 LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 5 September 8th, 2004 10:13 AM
Example Control 2 Pumps by PLC & real program Platootod LIVE PLC Questions And Answers 2 July 21st, 2004 09:32 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:33 AM.


.