Microligix 1500 counter

kenlr

Hey

Im new to programming plcs, and here is what Im tring to do

I have a bagging system for a fine powder, I want to count a numbr of bags, and at a set number of baggs I want to energize an output to a sampler. (I want to take a sample of every 500 bags)

What Im not sure of is how to set up the counter to count a certain input, the energize a cartain output when the count is reached

If some one has a basic counter program I could look at that would be a big help

Thanks in advance

Using an SLC see attached pdf

The Input i have ised is a standard 24vdc input

Its a very basic 2 rung program to give you an idea, you could tie a proximity sensor to that input ?

It depends on the speed of your bags passing the input to the plc really.........

Like i said this will give you an idea

Its on Logix 500 on an SLC

edit: looks like i was beaten to it !

ok I loaded the little two rung counter program, On the bench, and it counts ok, but when it reaches the prste value it does not drive the output, or rest,

an I missing something

Thanks

What is the two rung program you put in?

The sample posted by 504Bloke will turn the output on for a single scan because the counter is immeidately reset. If you used that sample then that is why you are not seeing the output, its on for probably less than a millisecond.

You need to seperate the counter reset logic from the output rung.

Have a look at the other example as well.

Just click on the link counter.zip. When WinXP asks if you want to open or download the file, just click open. A zip file is just a compressed folder that contains other files. When the folder opens then you will see the file Counter.RSS. You can double click it to open it with Logix-500. When Logix 500 says its a read-only file, just click OK.

EDIT:
Here, just in case you have difficulty opening mgvol's file, and/or so someone else without RSLogix can see it, I converted it to a PDF and attached it.