Slc 500

jypower5

I am new in PLC.
I bought SLC500(1747-L40c) unit in e-bay.
When I powered up CPU light blinks all the time and I cannot communicate to my PC(I am using 1747-pic Ser. A).
Is this meant bad CPU?
Or manual says clean up the memory in CPU(?) and set to factory default, could anyone tell me how to set the CPU in factory default
except remove battery with AC power down.

As far as I know 1747-pic requires 24VDC from controller but when I checked voltage pin 3,4 or 7,8 0VDC show up in my multi-meter.

What is the pattern of the blinking light? I know on the 5/01 to 5/05 depending on what flashes and how it flashes it'll help to track the fault type.

I'm assuming this is for at home. Is it possible to get a known good unit and try the comms on that. Depending on your os (win98,2000,xp) the comms with the pic can be a real problem due to the os owning the comm port.

Drewcrew6

Reply to DrewCrew6

I am using XP.
LED blinks about twice per second.
my com port 1 settint:
AB PIC/AIC+PORT(COM 1)

19200 baud rate, 8Databit, Parity none, Stop bit 1, Floe control none.

In drive diagnostic(general tab).
Packet send and recieve working O.K.

--------------------------------------------------------
On the RSLinx lite:
Workstation, My home pc
|-----Linx Gateways, Ethernet
|-----AB_PCI,DH-485
|---00, Workstation, rsi-picw2k
Above is how my RSLinxLite Screen looks like.

SLC 500

This problem happened to me before . First open up RSlinx and double click on AB-PIC, DH-485 if you see SLC 500 without red cross on it then communication with slc 500 processor exists now close RSlinx .
Second open up rslogix and create a new file now you have to choose the processor type you mentioned and create only one rung (you are in off line mode) verify that there is no error and download it into processor once downloaded go on line I can not remember exactly if the blinking led turns off or will change to steady state . Let me know the result and good luck.

Last edited: