PLC, PowerFlex 70, and DeviceNet

bigbadbill

I'm relatively new to VFD's in general so if I'm missing something that seems obvious, it's probably not obvious to me.

I have several new PowerFlex 70's that were installed recently on a DeviceNet network. When I send a speed value from the PLC to the VFD, it appears to be scaled from 0 - 32767 (where 32767 is the max speed). My customer would prefer a scaling from 0 - 9000, where 9000 is 90 Hz (our max speed). Is there an easy way to change the scaling, or do I have to live with using numbers from 0 - 32767?

Thanks in advance

+32767 is the largest 16-bit signed integer number that a PLC-5, SLC-500 or Micrologix controller can handle. In the interest of maximum resolution, that's what the interface designers decided to make the PLC equivalent of the output frequency span of Min Hz to Max Hz in the drive.

That way, it wouldn't matter as drives evolved and got more precise in their frequency resoution... the PLC was already at it's limit of resolution.

That standard was decided back in the Remote I/O interface to 1336 Plus drives, and carried over into the DeviceNet interface to 1336 family and now PowerFlex drives.

I usually use an SCP (Scale with Parameters) or CPT (compute) instruction in my ladder logic to scale my user units to drive units. With any drive you're often going to have to run through a whole set of ratios anyhow: PLC units to output Hz is just the first one. Then it's Output Hz -> Output RPM and through your mechanical drivetrain to feet/min, gallons/sec, or furlongs/fortnight.

This is just the way that 1336 and PowerFlex drives work with DeviceNet interfaces because they were designed to work with A-B PLC's. Some other drives work the same way on DeviceNet, and others (like the A-B Bulletin 160 and the Yaskawa GPD515) you send Hz*100, or RPM, or something else they define. Often it's different depending on what I/O Assembly you specify.