I have to say this

rsdoran

Lifetime Supporting Member
This is basically a rant more or less.

I do not get it, how do some of these people get their jobs?

Seems every day that many need to complete the HNC cert, but trying to do it while in a real world enviroment. To be more explicit, many so called engineers ask simple HNC type questions while trying to accomplish a real world application.

Many of these people are engineers but have no idea how to locate info/manuals or ask a question properly.

I have to thank GOD that I do not need a job, but would be nice if I could find more of this kind of work to pass the time.

I am not an engineer but after the years of being here I wonder why I am not.

Have to admit sometimes the level of question to the job it appears someone has responsbility for is frightening.

I do feel quite a lot of times as well that difficulties occur for some asking questions when English is not their first language and perhaps they are asking via an on-line translator.

Pick a language you don't know and try to construct a nice technical question and understand the answer.

It has to be difficult.

One possibility

As companies become leaner and leaner, everyone has to do more and more. Often times they are assigned duties that they don't have the knowledge or training to accomplish.

So....
They know that saying they can't do it, may mean that they are the next in line for the ax. So they make an effort, give it they're best shot, which is often much less than adequate, they don't know where to look for manuals etc...
So they do what they're used to doing, they search the web, and end up here or someplace like it.

Then....
You can tell by the content of the questions, that they don't have a clue. Depending on the individual and how they respond to the Q & A's here, they may get a lot of help, or we may ignore them because it's obvious that they will never grasp the concept of programming.