Communicating with Component Class HMI via CCW

Dpuck

I posted here previously asking for help with acquiring the software needed to work with AB Micrologix processors. Forgive me, I'm VERY new to this...

That thread can be found here: http://www.plctalk.net/qanda/showthread.php?t=95056&goto=newpost

Now that I have that taken care of and what I believe is a functional ladder built I'm working toward learning the HMI portion of this project (stamping press controls).

I am lucky enough to have a similar press that I was involved in building, with code written by an integrator we occasionally use when his workload allows. So I have a skeleton to work with on both the ladder logic as well as the panelview screen.

The problem I'm having now, is in my attempts to communicate with the HMI.

I have downloaded the most recent version of CCW and the BootP server and was able to assign an IP address to the processor (1400) via BootP and had no issue communication with it via ethernet. I have no idea, however, what I am doing in regards to communicating with the HMI.

I was able to assign the HMI an IP address manually on the screen of the HMI itself, but the BootP server will not "see" it, nor will it show up in RSlinx.

I'm about six hours deep into it with no results and would appreciate a nudge in the right direction.

I have the processor and the HMI connected to one another via an N-Tron 304TX switch which is where I am attempting to connect to the HMI.

Thanks in advance,

I haven't tangled with PVCs too often, however, the BOOTP utility is to be deployed only for "shelf" state devices (e.g. DHCP Enabled, No Assigned IP Address).
If you have manually set a static IP Address for a device (and hopefully disabled DHCP) the BOOTP utility is useless.
One more thing: BOOTP is using RSLinx which does not play at all with PVCs.