Started a new job, new to PLCs, not getting trained.

Divinitous

A career in PLC is something I have wanted for a long time now. Problem is I have zero experience in it. For a little over a year now I had been casually applying for jobs with hopes that my Arduino skills and associates in EET would be enough to get my foot in the door. I would be happy to take some college courses but my job at the time was in field service and being away from home for a few days to a week a few times a month made this impossible.

Well, as luck would have it about 3 months ago I was hired as an entry level controls engineer for a company that is only 15 minutes from my front door. It was to be on the job training from the other controls employee and everything looked great!

Well, here's where it all goes wrong. The other employee is a contract employee and (s)he sees me as a threat to their job. Understandably, I can see this from their point of view. As a result the training that I'm receiving is extremely limited and just enough to help alleviate the workload but never get me up to speed. If I ask for more or even just request to watch certain tasks being performed the answer is always either no, or "later on" which never happens. To complicate the issue further this person is someone who is hard to get along with, very condescending.

The pattern is consistent. There could be free time and still there's not enough time. I've spoken with management on this and have their support to get me some training, but with me being so green I don't know where to start or what specifically to ask. The goal is to get me up to speed ASAP.