Anyone using Siemens CPU embedded webpages (aka "Web2PLC") ?

JesperMP

Lifetime Supporting Member + Moderator
Hi all.

I am starting to learn how to program the webserver that is on Siemens PN CPUs, using the utility program Web2PLC.
Anyone else doing that ?
Would be nice to have someone to discuss matters with, and to share the know-how. Siemens documentation on how to accomplish this is somewhat superficial.

Anyone ?

OK, noone else seems to be interested in this.
So I'll just post my findings. Maybe someone will find it useful.

Findings:

As soon as you enable the webserver, it costs at least 200kB memory on the MMC flash card. Simple userdefined webpages seems to add very little to the memory requirement. The used memory only counts against the available MMC Load memory, not the S7 CPUs work memory. I have no experience with more complex webpages, or pages with graphics.

Enabling the webserver immediately grants access to some useful goodies, such as the diagnostics buffer. Thus, the enduser can diagnose the PLC without having STEP7 or a special HMI made for it.

Creating VAT tables is as simple as ticking an option in the VAT property dialog. The values in the VAT will be view-only.

So far I have managed to create a simple user-defined webpage with a table of tags that the user can modify. This complements the VAT tables, where the user can only view not modify the values.
I used the sample project to generate the HTML code. As long as you just make some tables with variables, it is not so difficult.

There is the possibility to have multiple languages. Also for the user-defined web-pages. But I think that it requires a lot of work to maintain.
Dont know if non-latin fonts (cyrillic, chinese, etc.) are supported somehow.
I have decided to only support english.