Uploading comments in ladder?

EVriderDK

Why on earth is comments not saved in PLC's with the ladder logic?
How will the next engineer then be able to know what is going on in the program?
I am new in PLC, and to me it seems totally retarded.

Please enlighten me :)

Because they take up gobs of memory, which has been a limited resource until recently.

How will the next engineer then be able to know what is going on in the program?

By retaining the source file.

I am new in PLC, and to me it seems totally retarded.

This comment confirms you know next to nothing.

Please enlighten me :)

Trust that there are reasons for everything, and ignore what your brain thinks.

I'm sure that by now the OP is probably regretting how he/she phrased his/her question.

People growing up with the modern convenience of smart phones and the internet have no concept of what went before or what really goes on inside a computer.

Another common confusion is "why did you write all that using integers rather than reals?" This fails to appreciate that some older PLCs were not able to do floating point arithmetic and even if they did, it takes 4 times longer and has less precision than a double integer.

Originally Posted by EVriderDK View Post

A typical line of code make use up 10-20 bytes of memory. The associated comments might occupy 100 - 200 bytes. Memory is (was) expensive and the comments are of no use to the PLC.

Nick

But - Mitsubishi have allowed comments to be downloaded with the program for 20 years.

It's a real boon to come across an old Mitsi plc and when uploaded see that comments are in there.

You can share memory between the program size and comments.

/shrug. Comments aren't "All That" any way. Code gets modified, usually the comments are not updated.

A Design Document though, is useful, as it gives the goals of a system without delving into the bit by bit details.

And, if you can't follow the code, you shouldn't be monkeying with it.