OT: Hose to Pipe Verification

J E

I have a customer with a tank farm in which each of the 50 or so tanks has a pipe that connects to a manifold in a blend room. In the blend room, there are 8 hoses, each of which can be connected to any of the pipes.

The customer would like to have a verification system that would involve a PLC. For example it could verify that hose 6 was connected to pipe 38. The only two ideas I have are a complex system of numerous proxes or an RFID system (an area in which I have little knowledge). Does anyone have any suggestions or insight for this type of application?

I agree that RFID would be the least complex and most reliable here. I would put a reader on each of the 6 hoses and an ID tag on each of the 38 pipes. From there it would be fairly simple logic.

Talk to your local Turck rep.

Depending on your piping and materials you are working with I have in the past pumped in air psi first though the line which makes the correct psi switch at the tank or other connection if it's connected to the right place it will allow material flow.

Many bulk powder and resin convey system are done this way but as others have said I still like RFID better.

Another approach would be to use your PLC’s native discrete I/O and some logic.

Basically, you’d have a discrete output for each of the hoses (8) and a discrete input for each of the tank pipes (50). You’d fashion a single conductor patch cable that would ride on the hose; the patch connection would be made as the hose connection is made. In logic, each digital output would be fired (one at a time) for a brief duration; if a connection is established, the corresponding input would ‘light up’.

Details can be found here (yours is a type 1 system): https://www.scribd.com/doc/21244171...ctions-Among-Port-Manifolds-for-the-Process-I