Anyone else, jokes in your programming comments?

ganutenator

Lifetime Supporting Member
I'm a programmer and a comedian.

I find myself putting jokes in my programming comments.

Plus side, I over comment.

Writing this post because I just had a flashback feel good memory where this project manager at Goodyear read one and told me how he laughed his but off.

A man at a factory I used to work with but not seen for years said to me one day 'you owe me five quid.

Seeing my perplexed look he continued.... we scrapped a machine that you did the panel for and I took the plc out. Written on the back plane was 'if you read this I will pay you 5 pounds, R.O.S.'

It took nearly 20 years for that joke to come to fruition.

I at times have a some of fun writing comments, both partially sane and insane, and I do it mostly for myself.
I think to myself, 'well, this is what I was thinking at the time, and what I wrote then, and read now, is sometimes means something', sometimes cryptic with a slight warpedness about it.
More recently, I'm tending to throw a bit of French in there, not, not that sort of French 👨🏻‍🏫, real French, probably trying in vane to impress myself in some wacky way.
Thing is, when I can, I am in France, riding through the Aples. And while I am doing that, I often have flashbacks to my other life, programming.
I guess I am trying to live two lives simultaneously, trying to perfect what a good life means, and finding I fumble and stumble in the process.

It is interesting the subject was brought up, I hope it shows that there are a few other out there that find it hard to resist writing from a more other sided hemisphere than would normally be used for logic.

I would love to see some more examples of what people have written in their code ?
Santè :)

I try not to anymore, turns out not everyone has the same sense of humor as me.