Any Phoenix Contact PLC-V8C/PT-24DC users out there

sparkyinak

I have a vendor who is working to set me up with a sales rep from Phoenix Contact in the near future regarding the PLC-V8C/PT-24DC modular system which is pretty much up my alley for my needs.

No disrespect to the company by any means, I have never heard of the company, so I have no working experience with them in general. When we specifying products, one must be able to back up what we are trying to sell the customer. Electricians tend to hold onto what they know, and for good reason... At least us older generation.... Lol!

When I talk to the salesperson, I do not want to go in empty handed. Salesmen will do what they can to close the deal. That's their job and I can appreciate that since we are all salesmen to some degree. I prefer field experience and firsthand knowledge other professionals then just cut sheets and sales jargon

Anyone out there familiar with the product in the field? Anyone know of any similar systems? It sure can fill a niche for me.

Sparky,
I have never used these PLC's from Phoenix before but do use a lot of Phoenix terminal blocks, fuse blocks and relays. In general I find that their equipment to be good quality.

One think to keep in mind with Phoenix is they are a worldwide company so a lot of products they make don't really end up in the US market. So I would ask the Sales Rep about how many uses of this PLC do they have in the US. Ask about Stock. Ask about help with the programming in the US. it is possible that they may be tying to move this product from another part of the world to the US market and they may not be quite ready. You don't want to be their Guinea Pig!!

As for looking for something new I am always one the hunt for the next PLC that will do what I want and be less expensive. Ask them to give you one to play with. You may like it, then again you may not. Best to find out before you make a large $$ commitment.