Message instruction destination tag help

LowRange

Hello, I'm trying to read a parameter from a Power Flex 525 drive to monitor output current in order to detect a jam condition in carousel filler. I'm following the handy example in Power Flex manual but am confused about the destination tag. I'm creating a tag called Output_Current but what should my data type be? With an INT it makes a tag with a + next to it and it's full of BOOLs.

I want my Output_Current to be a number so I can stick it on an HMI and look at it. Eventually, after I determine what value corresponds with a jam condition, I will use a comparison instruction to enable hard stop of the filler. I'm new to this rxlogix 5000 stuff. Will an INT data type tag work? How do I get a normal number instead of a tag full of 16 BOOLs?

Attached is the example in the 525 manual. Controller is a CompactLogix and I don't have the ability to test the project on a spare controller.

Thank you

Image 1.jpg

I don't know if an INTeger tag would work, the manual should cover that. You just need to make sure the data type match. If it's a 16 bit integer at the drive, then your destination data type needs to be a 16 bit integer.

As for the the + symbol, it would always be there because an 16 bit integer is made up of 16 bits (or Boolean)

ETA: I take a quick read at the manual. I would suggest you use the Add-On-Profile if possible. By using that, it would create all the necessary tags for you and there would be no need to use explicit messaging, I think.

Last edited:
The Output Current is a 16 bit parameter requiring the use of a INT data type. My confusion is that I'm familiar with the N7 file from rslogix 500 so how would I grab the value from the Output_Current tag in 5000? If could run the project on a spare controller I could look at the tag and see where the integer value it at but I don't have that option. Within the Output_Current + drop down, where would my output current parameter be?