conveyors and sootblower motor

dean esprez

I have not receive my plc tutorial yet (ccnow order number 13-3860) and I am quite new to PLC..so I have two pressing question for our panel of experts.

1. You are asked to put the controls for a conveyor onto a PLC. The operator will control the conveyor with a Run/Stop position switch and the operator will be given a lamp indication of the motor running or stopped with a green/red lamp respectively. The Run/Stop switch must go through the stop position before the conveyor will start. The operator will also be given a lamp indicating that there has been an E-stop, which the operator can cancel with the stop switch position. The conveyor will have 4 emergency stop cords along its' sides. Write a ladder logic program (I have access to square-D or telemecanique plc only).

2. Write the ladder logic to control a sootblower motor. The requirements are that a lance will be out of the boiler, as indicated by a "home" limit switch. When requested to go in, the sootblower must leave the home limit switch within 5 seconds, or the insert request is to be cancelled. When in the boiler, the lance must reach its' end-of-travel limit-switch within 30 second, or an automatic retract should be initiated. When the lance reaches its' end-of-travel, the reverse motor starter should be closed. There should be an operator-retract available to permit a "retract request" of the lance at any time. In any case of the sootblower motor being reversed (withdrawing of the lance), there should be a 3-second delay between the forward contact opening and the reverse contact closing. Local emergency stop will be hardwired locally, and need not go into the PLC.

Well, Dean, we aren't going to do your homework for you. But because you are buying Phil's book we know your heart is in the right place, so I'll give you a couple of hints to get you started: